On A Personal Note: Listen to Learn

Larry King said, “I remind myself every morning: Nothing I say this day will teach me anything. So if I’m going to learn, I must do it by listening.” There is strength in learning to listen to the world around you. Too many times in my life I know I have been too busy moving about the cabin (that’s a Darleneism), to just enjoy my world.

Recently I made a change in my life and I am not working right now. I have been moving for about 6 and half years and I have learned in the last 6 weeks I have been home that I have missed a lot. I don’t have any regrets. I loved my job and the people I had the privilege to lead and support. But it felt like more than I could handle and as a result I walked away. Right or wrong, ultimately, I needed a change. I needed to see some things. I need to learn some things. I have stopped moving so fast. I seem to hear my thoughts a lot clearer than I have and I am enjoying just being…Listen to Learn

  • Being alive and writing again
  • Being a wife and a mom
  • Being a woman
  • Being a leader
  • Being a coach
  • Being…

What I have learned in the last 6 weeks is that there is still much for me to learn. I don’t know it all. Not that I ever thought that, but it is very easy to assume you know enough to live and move forward in your life. I am only scratching the surface of what I am suppose to be doing in my life. I am VERY clear about who I am and what I can offer to the world around me. I am clear that I am valuable and that there is much for me to continue to pour into others but I have also learned the importance of being a life-long learner. My mom actually demonstrates this every day of her life. I know I got that lesson, but sometimes in the busyness of life and living you forget.

As leaders it is critical that we learn from those around us. My students taught me something every day over the last 6 years. I know they did. The problem is that I am not sure I always embraced the lessons – the learning. ‘Be teachable’ is one of my values. In the quietness of my life today, as I have listened – to my thoughts, to my God, I know that I am embarking on a new journey, a new season. I have no idea where it will take me but I am up for the journey and look forward to the learning. It feels like I am stepping off a cliff with no apparent path or footing, but if I am right, the road will come and meet me as I step out and begin.

Novices and Experienced Leaders: Who is around you that you are learning from? I am not talking about your mentor(s). They are great and you should have one if you don’t. But who else do you listen and learn from? I am talking about the 2 year olds who are just discovering the world around them. What can you glean from the simplicity of a child? When is the last time you discovered something? Or, what about that employee who gets on your last nerve? What about your leadership team? Do you listen to them or do you have all the answers?

These are just a few people we can sometimes take for granted and miss what they are saying. Slow down and take in the scenery…LISTEN! Enjoy the quietness of the early morning. There is so much to hear in the quietness of a morning. But be careful not to allow your mind to be at work. Settle your thoughts and just experience what’s going on with the people around you. There are lessons waiting for each of us, every single day, if we will stop long enough to listen and embrace them.

Did you hear that? The bell just sounded and school…I mean life is in session! Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “On A Personal Note: Listen to Learn

Leave a Reply

